• Top Clicks

    • None

Compare and Contrast

Fair or unfair? Yesterday’s review of Delaware Theatre Company’s production of The Piano Lesson took shape as an almost side-by-side comparison with the Arden’s production, which was reviewed by my colleague, Howie Shapiro. Since the shows ran back-to-back, as a journalist, pairing them seemed inevitable. However, I can’t help wondering if readers are more interested in hearing about a specific production or enjoy getting some of the context surrounding it. Feel free to enlighten me.

DTC's Piano Lesson

 

3 Responses

  1. Now who will be our “Washer of souls?”….The first play of the Pittsburgh cycle was my favourite….

  2. I welcome the opportunity to read reviews that reference other relevant work. Aren’t we as theatergoers always comparing and constrasting? I hope you’ll do this again in similar situations.

    I suspect theaters don’t appreciate pieces like your Piano Lesson review quite so much. They assume the risk when producing the same play as a nearby theater at the same time.

    The lack of opportunity to write about productions in context (like, for example, in an occasional column, the way the Inky critics usd to years ago) makes me want to start my own blog. Hmmm . . .

  3. Thanks Mark. I imagine they would have to expect it when something like this happens, and if they don’t, well, they’re incredibly naive.

    I too miss the ample newsprint space devoted to theater coverage. I used to have a column in the Philadelphia Weekly long ago called Drama Queen, which is obviously where this blog gets its title. So you can see I was motivated by the same impulse! Go for it. It’s a surprising amount of work, but really worth it. However, if you don’t feel quite up to that commitment, you’re always welcome to expound on here.

Leave a Reply

