• Top Clicks

    • None

Bigger Drama

Philly Drama Queen is moving on to a larger castle soon, and you’re all invited. This blog is being picked up by ArtsJournal.com, a sort of clearinghouse for arts journalism with its own in-house and affiliated outside blogs. The site has lots of exciting plans for the future, and is picking up where traditional news outlets have failed the arts–and those who cover them. 

I wanted to blog for the Inquirer, I really did (and to be fair, they are allowing me to occasionally contribute to ArtsWatch, Peter Dobrin’s blog). But consider this: they asked me in February for a bio and photo so they could post it on the website. Like a fool, I ran around telling everyone they could soon subscribe to my RSS feed, they could just go to my page if they wanted to read my reviews, that if they wanted to access any of my other work, I’d be able to link it to that page. Now, winter has turned to spring and though the nest of mourning doves outside my office window has sprouted hatchlings who have gone on to become birds in their own right, I still don’t have a page on the Inky’s website. 

Some of you may recall the Suburban Love Songs piece I did last month and wondered what I was thinking. I was thinking that it would be a fully complimentary multimedia feature, where its virtual online spirit is inextricably linked to its corporeal print body. Alas, not only was the video placed on a separate page from the online feature, it was not at all what I’d imagined. The videoographer was none too happy about the assignment, complaining that shooting news was no problem but this, editing something, was a pain. Initially, I offered to film it myself–but since my experience is, shall we say limited, a pro was sent in who was told nothing about the project and cut off the end of the performance (though the stuff that made it to video was quite nice). On several feature pieces I’ve offered to include boxes with relevant links that could be printed or posted on the Inky site. Often, they don’t appear, or if they do, the links are broken.

It’s a sad state of affairs and one that will send my venerable and much-loved Pulitzer winning newspaper careening into the iceberg, rather than navigating safely around it (Since I spend a lot of time in Leadville, Co, hometown of the Unsinkable Molly Brown, please indulge me this metaphor). Anyway, I’m forced to be a Molly Brown in this enterprise, taking the oars in my own hands and demanding an explanation for what has transpired.

titanic sinking

I’ll keep fighting for the survival of Philly arts coverage via my Inquirer writing, but ArtsJournal allows me to take this blog and focus on national issues critical to drama queens like myself and to add on all the add-ons my black critic’s heart desires. I hope you’ll come visit me in my gorgeous new digs. Keep checking back in this space for the official move date.

3 Responses

  1. Drama Queen.

    “I am a cook and a captain bold,
    and the mate of the Nancy Brig…..”

  2. Oh thank god. All this running around the blogosphere is really getting exhausting.

    Congrats on the future new digs. Word on the street is that they have a Snoopy Sno-Cone maker and a foosball table over there.

  3. If only running around the blogosphere had the same effect on my metabolism that actual running does. Unfortunately, bloggers seem to be keeling over by the truckload lately. Oh well, didn’t Jim Fixx die jogging? You can’t win.
    Hope to see you over at ArtsJournal soon!

Leave a Reply

